Composing Summary

I used a story telling narrative to explain how my friend’s trip to Africa affected her beliefs about technology. I talked about all of the things she noticed that people would do in Africa that her friends in America would rarely do. For example, the African family she stayed with always ate meals as a family where as in America either no one has time to eat together or people are on their phones and doing other things at the dinner table. I used juxtaposing examples between the people in Africa and the people in the U.S to communicate my friends belief that technology is hurting American culture and relationships through story mode.

I used a generic audio clip in the beginning of my video to use before my narration started because without it the beginning of my video would look like more of a powerpoint and it wasn’t interesting enough. Then after my narration had started I explained that all of the kids in the village really liked Waka Waka by Shakira and made that song the background music. After certain points I made I took pauses in the audio so that the audience could focus on the pictures and the music for two reasons. The first reason was that I wanted to let what I had just said set into the audiences heads because when people are given a lot of information at once they tend to forget the things that are said easier on in the video. The second reason was because I think the pictures say a lot about the people and their personalities and I didn’t want to detract from that, the music really gives people a look into how the people were and I wanted them to be able to experience the personalities of the village without a second voice in their head the whole time. I also used landscape pictures of parts of the villages to show how beautiful the country was and how it would get lost or taken advantage of if everyone was constantly using technology. The pictures of animals at the beginning was to give the audience a glimpse at the setting of the video rather than me just jumping into the story as soon as you press play.

The audience I am trying to reach with this video could be anyone. The videos point out all of the things we take for granted and I think that that applies to everyone at some point in their lives whether they are students, business people, or retirees. I think this video has potential on youtube or vimeo because people are interested in people’s lives around the world and I think they would be interested in seeing what it looks like to live in a rural village in western Africa. This video could be used to communicate what we miss out on when we are too busy watching a screen. I also think that parents who think their kids use technology too much would use this video to get their kids to stop texting at the dinner table.

Leave a comment