Summary (Design Memo)

For my webtext I chose to keep mine simple so as not to distract too much from the message. My main topic was the study of the communication between the Korean shop owners and the African-American customers and how it lead to the murder of Latasha Harlins which is why I chose a picture of her to put on my front page. I was trying to cater to people in the communication field who are more knowledgable about key communication concepts so I tried not to do too much explaining or defining of terms. I also wanted to give my audience the opportunity to read more about Latasha and watch the YouTube video so I put both of those links at the top of my page. I found that once I knew more about Latasha’s story, it made me more interested in when Bailey had to say in his article. I also added an introduction to try to summarize the idea of my webtext and get my audience engaged so they would want to keep reading. I tried to label them in a way that made it clear that if someone clicked on them they would be taken to a new website. For example I labeled them as their website rather than just Latasha’s story or “video.” I added Bailey’s article as well so that people could go back and look up the quotes I used in the webtext in order to get more context. I also put links on the top of the page to the different sections so that people could jump around and not have to read through the whole page. I added in pictures on the page to give an illustration of what Las Angeles was like back in the 1990’s in these grocery stores. I avoided embedding the video into my article so as not to distract my audience.

Leave a comment